Children's Books for Parents and Teachers - book reviews and suggestions for parents and teachers.

Search Results for 'Demi'

51MnRK8yeeL
By: Rick Riordan
Publisher: Hyperion Book CH

What dangers do runaway demigods Luke and Thalia face on their way to Camp Half-Blood? Are Percy and Annabeth up to the task of rescuing stolen goods from a fire-breathing giant who doesn’t take kindly to intruders? How exactly are Leo, Piper, and Jason supposed to find a runaway table, dodge a band of party-loving Maenads (who just might be a little psychotic), and stave off a massive explosion…all in one hour or less? With his trademark wit and creativity, Rick Riordan answers these questions and more in three never-before-seen short stories that …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

An American Plague, The True and Terrifying Story of the Yellow Fever Epidemic Of 1793
By: Jim Murphy
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Level: 12-13

Accompanied by black-and-white archival photos and drawn from first-hand accounts, a compelling true story vividly recreates the devastation rendered to the city of Philadelphia in 1793 by an incurable disease known as yellow fever, …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

Percy Jackson: The Demigod Files
By: Rick Riordan
Publisher: Hyperion Books for Children
Level: 12-13

How do you handle an encounter with Medusa on the New Jersey interstate?  What’s the best way to take down a minotaur? Become an expert on everything in Percy’s world with this must-have guide to the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. Complete with interviews, puzzles, games, and original short stories by Rick Riordan.

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51im8y042UL
By: Christopher Lehman
Publisher: Heinemann

Save 15% with our Book Study Bundle! “Love brings us in close, leads us to study the details of a thing, and asks us to return again and again. These are the motivations and ideas that built this book.” -Chris Lehman and Kate Roberts You and your students will fall for close reading. In Falling in Love with Close Reading, Christopher Lehman and Kate Roberts show us that it can be rigorous, meaningful, and joyous. You’ll empower students to not only analyze texts but to admire …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

41nJf3QtIlL
By: Rick Riordan
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen-all of them, and they’re stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood-the blood of Olympus-in order to wake. The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

61EOpMdYjxL
By: Maryrose Wood
Publisher: Balzer + Bray

For fans of Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart’s Mysterious Benedict Society comes the fourth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood.In The Interrupted Tale, Miss Penelope Lumley receives an invitation to speak at the annual Celebrate Alumnae Knowledge Exposition (or CAKE) at the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females. Optoomuchstic as ever, Penelope hopes to give her CAKE talk, see some old friends, and show off the Incorrigible children to Miss Mortimer, but instead …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51KyiGiky2L
By: Kelli Dunham
Publisher: Applesauce Press

As boys reach adolescence, everything changes: their bodies, their feelings, and their relationships. Their world turns shaky just when they find it hardest to talk with the adults in their lives. But even if they won’t say what’s on their mind, they still want straight answers. The Boy’s Body Book provides them, in a readable, reassuring, and illustrated guide. It covers a boy’s every concern: hygiene, exercise, teachers, peer pressure, sex, and siblings. He’ll learn about what’s going on physically (vocal changes, body hair) and how to handle academic pressures, …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51S2vgpN3pL
By:
Publisher: Summer Bridge Activities

School stops for summer…learning never should! The award-winning Summer Bridge Activities(R) workbook series is aligned to Common Core State Standards and was developed to help parents support their children academically year-round. While there are many other summer workbooks available, Summer Bridge Activities(R) remains the #1 choice recommended by teachers. In only 15 minutes a day, the activities in the Summer Bridge Activities(R) workbook help your pre-kindergarten child keep skills sharp and feel confident for kindergarten. –Each workbook is divided into three sections which correspond to the three months of traditional …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

512YNUIw4lL
By:
Publisher: Summer Bridge Activities

School stops for summer…learning never should! The award-winning Summer Bridge Activities(R) workbook series is aligned to Common Core State Standards and was developed to help parents support their children academically year-round. While there are many other summer workbooks available, Summer Bridge Activities(R) remains the #1 choice recommended by teachers. In only 15 minutes a day, the activities in the Summer Bridge Activities(R) workbook help your fourth grade child keep skills sharp and feel confident for fifth grade. –Each workbook is divided into three sections which correspond to the three months …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

511iAXGFJzL
By:
Publisher: Summer Bridge Activities

School stops for summer…learning never should! The award-winning Summer Bridge Activities(R) workbook series is aligned to Common Core State Standards and was developed to help parents support their children academically year-round. While there are many other summer workbooks available, Summer Bridge Activities(R) remains the #1 choice recommended by teachers. In only 15 minutes a day, the activities in the Summer Bridge Activities(R) workbook help your kindergartner keep skills sharp and feel confident for first grade! –Each workbook is divided into three sections which correspond to the three months of traditional …

Order this book from AMAZON.com