Children's Books for Parents and Teachers - book reviews and suggestions for parents and teachers.

Search Results for ''

51EYXYFFYFL
By: Robert Sabuda
Publisher: Candlewick

From renowned pop-up masters Robert Sabuda and Matthew Reinhart comes an awe-inspiring tribute to the world’s most beloved extinct animals and their 180-million-year reign on our planet.Open this book and a massive T. REX springs out, flashing a startling jawful of jagged teeth. Turn the next spread and a ravishing raptor unfurls and appears to fly off the edge of the page. Inside the amazing ENCYCLOPEDIA PREHISTORICA: DINOSAURS are “shield bearers” in full-body armor, creatures with frilly headgear, and weighty, long-necked giants. There are even amusing tidbits on the history …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51gQ1zSyL-L
By: Munro Leaf
Publisher: Grosset & Dunlap

Ferdinand is the world’s most peaceful–and–beloved little bull. While all of the other bulls snort, leap, and butt their heads, Ferdinand is content to just sit and smell the flowers under his favorite cork tree. Leaf’s simple storytelling paired with Lawson’s pen-and-ink drawings make The Story of Ferdinand a true classic. Commemorate the 75th anniversary of the book’s original publication with this beautiful and affordable 8×8 paperback edition.

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51o0QIAuP9L
By: J. K. Rowling
Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks

In his fifth year at Hogwart’s, Harry faces challenges at every turn, from the dark threat of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named and the unreliability of the government of the magical world to the rise of Ron Weasley as the keeper of the Gryffindor Quidditch Team. Along the way he learns about the strength of his friends, the fierceness of his enemies, and the meaning of sacrifice.

Order this book from AMAZON.com

610EPrk4nsL
By: Hasbro My Little Pony
Publisher: Reader's Digest

Create a plethora of My Little Pony characters with this awesome book that comes with stencils, stickers, and easy-to-follow instructions.I Love Drawing My Little Pony comes with everything kids need to draw their favorite characters from the show—and even create some of their own unique ponies and cutie marks. The book provides step-by-step drawing instructions to help kids become pony portrait masters. Then they can decorate their creations with stickers, stencils, and more! Packed with fun facts about the ponies and their world, this book is a must-have for any …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51EEezkPQdL
By: Lori Evert
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

In the tradition of The Snowman, The Polar Express, and the many books of Jan Brett this cozy Nordic tale filled with extraordinary photographs will have readers of all ages believing in the magic of Christmas. This is one to pull out every year and savor.Long ago, a brave little girl named Anja wanted to be one of Santa’s elves. So she leaves a note for her family and helps her elderly neighbor prepare for the holiday, then she straps on her skis, and heads out into the snowy landscape. From a red …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

514eKORpCAL
By: Richelle Mead
Publisher: Razorbill

Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives. In The Indigo Spell, Sydney was torn between the Alchemist way of life and what her heart and gut were telling her to do. And in one breathtaking moment that Richelle Mead fans will never forget, she made a decision that shocked even her. . . . But the …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

612rL0PNhEL
By: Dr. Ernest Drake
Publisher: Candlewick

For true believers only, a lavishly illustrated reproduction of a legendary volume by the world’s most distinguished dragonologist. Don’t let it fall into the wrong hands!Do you believe in dragons? Now, for the first time, the long-lost research of renowned nineteenth century dragonologist Dr. Ernest Drake is presented in all its eccentric glory, happily bridging the gap between dragon legend and fact. The meticulous Dr. Drake assigns Latin names to various dragon species, ruminates on why dragons are able to speak, speculates on how they could fly, and explains the …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

41FI3SJTWiL
By: Ally Condie
Publisher: Speak

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51lHodosBBL
By: James Dashner
Publisher: Delacorte Press

   From James Dashner, the author of the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, comes an all-new, edge-of-your seat adventure. The Eye of Minds is the first book in The Mortality Doctrine, a series set in a world of hyperadvanced technology, cyberterrorists, and gaming beyond your wildest dreams . . . and your worst nightmares.    Michael is a gamer. And like most gamers, he almost spends more time on the VirtNet than in the actual world. The VirtNet offers total mind and body immersion, and it’s addictive. Thanks to technology, …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51tfOs899sL
By: Marie Lu
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Featured on Entertainment Weekly’s MUST-LIST! The highly anticipated second book in Marie Lu’s New York Times bestseller, LEGEND—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT! June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only …

Order this book from AMAZON.com