Children's Books for Parents and Teachers - book reviews and suggestions for parents and teachers.
71Z8j-Y5qAL
By: Johanna Basford
Publisher: Laurence King Publishing

Coming in March 2015, Johanna Basford’s stunning follow-up Enchanted Forest: An Inky Quest & Coloring Book. Pre-order now!Tumble down the rabbit hole and find yourself in an inky black-and-white wonderland. This interactive activity book takes you on a ramble through a secret garden created in beautifully detailed pen-and-ink illustrations—all waiting to be brought to life through coloring, but each also sheltering all kinds of tiny creatures just waiting to be found. And there are also bits of the garden that still need to be completed by you. Appealing to all …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51GcSiLFYeL
By: James Dashner
Publisher: Delacorte Press

The perfect gift for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent, this boxed set includes all of the paperback editions of James Dashner’s #1 New York Times bestselling series–The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials, The Death Cure and The Kill Order. The first book, The Maze Runner, is now a major motion picture featuring the star of MTV’s Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario;Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster and the second book, The Scorch Trials, is soon to be a movie, hitting theaters September 18, 2015! …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

61IAp9DyotL
By: Kat Roberts
Publisher: Barron's Educational Series

Crafting for kids is back in a big way, but don’t take our word for it. Just check the arms, fingers, and even feet of kids around the nation. They’re all wearing super funky accessories made of multicolored rubber bands! Woven by hand, or with a small inexpensive loom, rubber band crafts are the latest craze, inspiring both boys and girls to put down their digital devices and start looming unique items to wear, share, and sell.Loom Band It offers 60 unique rubber band projects, from bracelets and charms to …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51au0qp-ImL
By: Richard Byrne
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

When her dog disappears into the gutter of the book, Bella calls for help. But when the helpers disappear too, Bella realizes it will take more than a tug on the leash to put things right. Cleverly using the physicality of the book, This book just ate my dog! is inventive, ingenious, and just pure kid-friendly fun!

Order this book from AMAZON.com

61NAqO7mYxL
By: L. Jon Wertheim
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Using the tips, truths, and stats they explore in their New York Times bestseller Scorecasting, two dads pack super sports savvy and important math and financial concepts into a fun and heartwarming first novel for kids.New kid Mitch Sloan wants to fit in, but his nerdy love of statistics and making money isn’t winning him any friends in his sports-loving town–until he finds the perfect way to attain instant popularity. But running a football betting ring at school eventually turns sour, and Mitch loses the only real friend he’s made. …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51ODRwXfSvL
By: Gene Luen Yang
Publisher: Dark Horse Books

Avatar Aang asks his friends to help him honor Yangchen’s Festival—one of the highest Air Nomad holidays, which hasn’t been celebrated in over one hundred years. But cryptic visits from the spirit of Avatar Yangchen herself lead Aang to discover a jointly owned Fire Nation and Earth Kingdom refinery—operating on land sacred to the Airbenders! Is this the cause of the pollution Aang finds there, or is a more mysterious menace afoot? * The official continuation of Airbender from the original series creators! * Continues to top the sales charts! …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

5170Q9LzkTL
By: Barbara Soloff Levy
Publisher: Dover Publications

This easy-to-follow drawing guide for beginning artists shows how to create 30 different forms of transportation by combining circles, cubes, squares, and rectangles. Step-by-step lessons help create everything from a canoe and antique locomotive to an ocean liner and a seaplane. Also provides young artists with a basic understanding of shape, form, and dimension. Blank practice pages are included.

Order this book from AMAZON.com

514W-fh-ZFL
By: Chris Van Allsburg
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

For decades, The Polar Express has been a treasured holiday classic. This sturdy, oversized hardcover edition is perfect for sharing and reading aloud. Awarded the prestigious Caldecott Medal in 1986, The Polar Express has sold more than 7 million copies, become a favorite holiday movie, and been translated into stage productions that take place across the United States during the holiday season.

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51r3hDE6mHL
By: Trish Kuffner
Publisher: Meadowbrook

365 FUN, CREATIVE ACTIVITIES TO STIMULATE YOUR PRESCHOOLER EVERY DAY OF THE YEAR This book contains 365 activities (one for each day of the year) for three- to six-year-olds using things found around the home. It shows parents and day-care providers how to: Save money by making your own paints, playdough, craft clays, glue, paste, and other arts and crafts supplies. Prevent boredom during even the longest stretches of indoor weather with ideas for indoor play, kitchen activities, and arts and crafts projects. Stimulate …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51eyRcYqGpL
By: Jeff Kinney
Publisher: Harry N. Abrams

A NEWER, REVISED AND EXPANDED EDITION OF THIS BOOK IS NOW AVAILABLE, The Wimpy Kid Movie Diary (DOG DAYS EDITION), ISBN 978-1419706424. INCLUDES 32 NEW PAGES ABOUT THE THIRD WIMPY KID MOVIE, DOG DAYS, PLUS AN ALL-NEW COVER ILLUSTRATION.

Order this book from AMAZON.com