Children's Books for Parents and Teachers - book reviews and suggestions for parents and teachers.

Search Results for ''

51ND7G34VRL
By: Eric A. Kimmel
Publisher: Holiday House

Stories About Saints and Animals.Twelve remarkable men and women cared for animals with faith and compassion.

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51mn3f9kWKL
By: Evan Kuhlman
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers

One new brother—assembly required. A “page-turner filled with fun, intrigue, and suspense” (Kirkus Reviews) from the author of The Last Invisible Boy.Matt Rambeau is officially a big brother—to a robot! Matt’s super-computer-genius dad is always getting cool tech stuff in the mail, but the latest box Matt opens contains the most impressive thing he’s ever seen: a bionically modified lifeform that looks human and calls Matt “brother” (in French)! Norman turns out to be a bit of an attention hog and a showoff, but Matt’s still psyched to have a …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51GUYpOCqcL
By: Jack Prelutsky
Publisher: Greenwillow Books

These fourteen silly, sweet poems by nationally bestselling author Jack Prelutsky are perfect for Valentine’s Day. This Level 4 I Can Read title is ideal for readers who are ready for wordplay, exciting themes, and fun vocabulary words! Fourteen easy-to-read poems go straight to the heart—and the funny bone—of the fourteenth of February. Jack Prelutsky, the nation’s first children’s poet laureate and a popular and bestselling poet, does for Valentine’s Day what he has already done for Christmas, Thanksgiving, and Halloween—and the results are delectable. Publishers Weekly said, “Cheers for …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

5130naZQDBL
By: Gail Herman
Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks

Scooby-Doo, that lovable canine super-sleuth, has become a Scholastic star. The stories in this reading format are easy to read and fun to solve.The Scooby-Doo Readers are a level above the Picture Clue Books. The text is easy-to-read and the art is bold and full-bleed, making these an appealing Level 2 reader.Scooby and his buddies are trying a new pizza parlor–the food is great, but there’s something strange about the owners. They wear pointed hats and black clothes. They live in a spooky old house. Could they be witches? …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

6119oQFU4hL
By: Mike Berenstain
Publisher: HarperFestival

Celebrate Valentine’s Day with the Berenstain Bears in this exciting addition to this classic New York Times bestselling series. When Sister Bear is asked to be the flower girl at a Valentine’s Day wedding, she is over the moon with joy. But when she gets carried away with the dresses, flowers, and cake, things begin to go awry. Young readers will feel the excitement—and the love—with this brand new storybook complete with a special poster, fun stickers, and Valentine’s Day cards.

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51NahJDevgL
By: Golden Books
Publisher: Golden Books

Love is in the air for Nickelodeon’s Bubble Guppies! Boys and girls 3-7 will fall for this full-color book featuring 32 pages of Valentine’s Day activities and over 50 stickers. 

Order this book from AMAZON.com

518T2isTjzL
By: Ace Landers
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

Anakin to the Rescue! is the adventurous and hilarious LEGO(R) adaptation of Star Wars(TM): Episode II: Attack of the Clones.When Anakin Skywalker and Obi-Wan Kenobi are assigned to protect Senator Padmé Amidala, they figure it’ll be an easy assignment. That is, until Obi-Wan falls for a cookie trap and lands them in Count Dooku’s arena of monster aliens!

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51Mi3ozKagL
By: Tim Green
Publisher: HarperCollins

Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica’s sports books, New York Times bestselling author Tim Green delivers a gripping addition to his Football Genius series.Troy’s dreams of the big time have backfired. Sure, he’s moved to New Jersey to start his new job as “genius” for the New York Jets, but his dad has taken his entire salary, leaving Troy and his mom broke. Now Troy has no hope of going to private school and playing for a football powerhouse with his cousin Ty. Instead he’s going to be part of …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51mpAWeAj-L
By: David A. Kelly
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

Batter up! Ballpark Mysteries combine baseball action with exciting whodunits for early chapter book readers!   Mike and Kate can’t wait to watch their rookie hero Dusty Martin in action. But something is throwing the Blue Jays’ star off his game. Then, when no one else is looking, Mike sees mysterious ghost lights flying across the field. Is the ballpark haunted? And could Dusty have seen the lights, too?   Ballpark Mysteries are the all-star matchup of fun sleuthing and baseball action, perfect for readers of Ron Roy’s A to …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51Z-c2sw8FL
By: Michael Anthony Steele
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

Spend a day at the garage fixing trucks in this funny LEGO(R) City storybook!Eric is spending the day working at his dad’s LEGO(R) City garage. He’s excited to help fix all the trucks and motorcycles, but there seems to be trouble around every corner! First Eric knocks over a pyramid of tires, then he spills oil all over the floor, and finally he soaks the whole garage with water. Dad wonders if maybe Eric is just too young to be helping out at the garage. But in the end, Eric …

Order this book from AMAZON.com