Children's Books for Parents and Teachers - book reviews and suggestions for parents and teachers.
51QurjJNDxL
By: Keith Richards
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Long before there was a band, there was a boy: a young Keith Richards, who was introduced to the joy of music through his beloved granddad, Theodore Augustus Dupree, affectionately known as “Gus,” who was in a jazz big band and is the namesake of Keith’s daughter, Theodora Dupree Richards. Gus & Me offers a rare and intimate look into the childhood of the legendary Keith Richards through this poignant and inspiring story that is lovingly illustrated with Theodora Richards’s exquisite pen-and-ink collages. This unique autobiographical picture book honors the …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51t-d3EeufL
By: Scholastic
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

Power up with this OFFICIAL Redstone handbook–it’s electrifying!It’s time to wire up and get connected to one of the most complex areas of Minecraft–Redstone. Redstone experts guide you through all aspects of working with Redstone including mining, smelting, using repeaters, circuit components and circuit designs. This handbook also includes exclusive tips from game creator Notch himself and some of the most extraordinary Redstone creations ever made. So power up and get switched on to Redstone–it’s electrifying!

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51V5t35GMZL
By: Dr. Seuss
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

THEODOR SEUSS GEISEL–aka Dr. Seuss–is one of the most beloved children’s book authors of all time. From The Cat in the Hat to Oh, the Places You’ll Go!, his iconic characters, stories, and art style have been a lasting influence on generations of children and adults. The books he wrote and illustrated under the name Dr. Seuss (and others that he wrote but did not illustrate, including some under the pseudonyms Theo. LeSieg and Rosetta Stone) have been translated into thirty languages. Hundreds of millions of copies have found their …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51tILdSWKsL
By: James Dashner
Publisher: Delacorte Press

Read the fourth book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The first book, The Maze Runner, is now a major motion picture featuring the star of MTV’s Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster! Also look for James Dashner’s newest novels, The Eye of Minds and The Rule of Thoughts, the first two books in the Mortality Doctrine series.   They thought the end came in a flash.   Before WICKED was …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51cUwTswWXL
By: Derek Jeter
Publisher: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books

The debut book in the Jeter Publishing imprint, The Contract is a middle grade baseball novel inspired by the youth of legendary sports icon and role model Derek Jeter.As a young boy, Derek Jeter dreams of being the shortstop for the New York Yankees. He even imagines himself in the World Series. So when Derek is chosen for the Little League Tigers, he hopes to play shortstop. But on the day of the assignments, Derek Starts at second base. Still, he tries his best while he wishes and dreams of …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

41wBjyCmB7L
By: Raina Telgemeier
Publisher: GRAPHIX

The companion to Raina Telgemeier’s #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling and Eisner Award-winning graphic memoir, SMILE.Raina can’t wait to be a big sister. But once Amara is born, things aren’t quite how she expected them to be. Amara is cute, but she’s also a cranky, grouchy baby, and mostly prefers to play by herself. Their relationship doesn’t improve much over the years, but when a baby brother enters the picture and later, something doesn’t seem right between their parents, they realize they must figure out how to get along. They …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

61IHJRCIZXL2
By: Sherri Duskey Rinker
Publisher: Chronicle Books

The #1 New York Times bestsellerAs the sun sets behind the big construction site, all the hardworking trucks get ready to say goodnight. One by one, Crane Truck, Cement Mixer, Dump Truck, Bulldozer, and Excavator finish their work and lie down to rest—so they’ll be ready for another day of rough and tough construction play! With irresistible artwork by best-selling illustrator Tom Lichtenheld and sweet, rhyming text, this book will have truck lovers of all ages begging for more.And coming this August! Crunch, vroom, beep, yawn and snore along with …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51V80khGWgL
By: James Dashner
Publisher: Delacorte Press

Read the third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The first book, The Maze Runner, is now a major motion picture featuring the star of MTV’s Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster! Also look for James Dashner’s newest novels, The Eye of Minds and The Rule of Thoughts, the first two books in the Mortality Doctrine series.   It’s the end of the line.   WICKED has taken everything from …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51dcJT8HpEL
By: Lois Lowry
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

The Giver, the 1994 Newbery Medal winner, has become one of the most influential novels of our time. The haunting story centers on twelve-year-old Jonas, who lives in a seemingly ideal, if colorless, world of conformity and contentment. Not until he is given his life assignment as the Receiver of Memory does he begin to understand the dark, complex secrets behind his fragile community. Lois Lowry has written three companion novels to The Giver, including Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son.

Order this book from AMAZON.com

61d7ODxC04L
By: Rick Riordan
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

A publisher in New York asked me to write down what I know about the Greek gods, and I was like, Can we do this anonymously? Because I don’t need the Olympians mad at me again. But if it helps you to know your Greek gods, and survive an encounter with them if they ever show up in your face, then I guess writing all this down will be my good deed for the week. So begins Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods, in which the son of Poseidon adds his own …

Order this book from AMAZON.com