Children's Books for Parents and Teachers - book reviews and suggestions for parents and teachers.
51oTXD-YsML
By: Nicola Davies
Publisher: Candlewick

Huge, magnificent, and solitary, a polar bear moves through the frozen Arctic. Powerful hunter, tireless swimmer, tender mother, gentle playmate — she is superbly adapted for surviving, even thriving, in this harsh and icy climate. Written in poetic language interspersed with fascinating facts, Nicola Davies’ breathtaking tale of this massive, stark white animal is brought to life in striking paintings by Gary Blythe. Just as the Inuit people have watched and learned from this amazing creature for generations, readers are invited to witness the majesty of Ice Bear.

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51UA6kQfENL
By: Brandon Mull
Publisher: Aladdin

Trapped in a world where magic is powerful and dreams are real, Cole continues his quest in book three of a “fanciful, action-packed adventure” series (Publishers Weekly, starred review), from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Fablehaven and Beyonders series.Cole Randolph ventures to a new kingdom as he continues his search for his friends—and also pursues his quest to mend what has gone awry with the magic in The Outskirts. Can he overcome the challenges ahead, or will he be stranded forever in a world between reality …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51OLNOREJiL
By: Ellen Jackson
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

The universe is rapidly expanding. Of that much scientists are certain. But how fast? And with what implications regarding the fate of the universe?Ellen Jackson and Nic Bishop follow Dr. Alex Fillippenko and his High-Z Supernova Search Team to Mauna Kea volcano in Hawaii, where they will study space phenomena and look for supernovae, dying stars that explode with the power of billions of hydrogen bombs. Dr. Fillippenko looks for black holes–areas in space with such a strong gravitational pull that no matter or energy can escape from them–with his …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

41jsZeu2BEL
By: Barry J McDonald
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Now knowing they can’t stop the samurai on their own, Herobrine must team up with SparkleGirl and Emman once more. The only problem is even with his old team back again, it looks like the samurai are too big even for them to overcome. Find out what happens to Herobrine and his friends in the next exciting installment in the Monster series.

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51mJuxEg02L
By: Doug Wilhelm
Publisher: Long Stride Books

The sequel to The Revealers, this realistic young adult novel deals with a timely and urgent issue for adolescents and their schools—cyberbullying. The suspenseful and engaging story is the first to deal with the full-range of behaviors that fall under the umbrella of cyberbullying, using an expanded cast of characters to portray the rumor-spreading politics of an entire middle school. A conflict arises between a ruthless group of ultrapopular eighth graders and a motley but creative group of classmates who challenge and infuriate them, creating an absorbing and relatable …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51Xh8A1wZOL
By: Jonathan S. Harbour
Publisher: Cengage Learning PTR

Do you like to play video games? Have you ever thought about making video games yourself? If so, this is the book for you! In this fun-to-use book, teacher and game developer Jonathan Harbour will teach you about game programming and show you how to create your own video games. Even if you’ve never programmed a computer before, by following the steps in this book, you will soon be making fun games for yourself and your friends to play. Each chapter will teach you a new skill and help you …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51vdgaQEiKL
By: Julia Sarcone-Roach
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Bear meets sandwich, adventure ensues. . . . A sly classic-in-the-making for fans of Jon Klassen, Peter Brown, and Mo Willems.   By now I think you know what happened to your sandwich. But you may not know how it happened. So let me tell you. It all started with the bear . . .   So begins Julia Sarcone-Roach’s delicious tale of a bear, lost in the city, who happens upon an unattended sandwich in the park. The bear’s journey from forest to city and back home again …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51bXs9RpA1L
By: Yona Zeldis McDonough
Publisher: Grosset & Dunlap

Born a slave in Maryland, Harriet Tubman knew first-hand what it meant to be someone’s property; she was whipped by owners and almost killed by an overseer. It was from other field hands that she first heard about the Underground Railroad which she travelled by herself north to Philadelphia. Throughout her long life (she died at the age of ninety-two) and long after the Civil War brought an end to slavery, this amazing woman was proof of what just one person can do.

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51fu1GEcu2L
By: Michael Part
Publisher: Sole Books

Neymar the Wizard is the fascinating coming-of-age story of Neymar da Silva Santos Junior, the skinny kid from Mogi das Cruzes, who has been called the next Pelé. Neymar has taken Brazil and the world by storm and continues to inspire millions of fans around the world with his talent, heart, and winning smile. Following the international bestsellers, The Flea the Amazing Story of Leo Messi and Ronaldo The Rise of a Winner, by Michael Part, Neymar The Wizard is the heartwarming and emotional story of a father and son, …

Order this book from AMAZON.com

51cI7YdeyeL
By: Steven Kellogg
Publisher: Puffin

Annie and her dog, Oscar, have had a busy day playing in the snow. Somehow Annie’s red mitten has disappeared in all the fun. They look high and low. . . . It’s not on the sledding hill, and it’s not by the snow castles. Maybe an eagle carried it off to keep its baby’s head warm. Or maybe a mouse is using it as a sleeping bag. When the sun goes down, Annie and Oscar have to give up their search and go inside. But when …

Order this book from AMAZON.com